

em Territory) are acquired by Canada from the Huded as the fifth province (1870). British Columbia joins Prince Edward Island as the seventh province (1873).



New provisional northern and western boundaries of Ontario are described (1874). The District of Keewatin is created (1876). British rights to the arctic Islands pass to Canada (1880). The boundaries of Manitoba are extended (1881), but the extension to the east is contested by Ontario. The provisional Districts of Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Athabaska, and Alberta are created (1882).



